Victor and Judith Tinkl

In 1966 Victor and Judith Tinkl moved into a former School House near Sunderland Ontario. Judith is a textile artist, making beautiful quilts, Victor has chosen concrete as the medium for his art form. He also uses discarded pieces of glass, metal and wood.

I had an opportunity to visit their home many years ago as part of the Durham Country Tour. The event allowed the public to visit interesting locations throughout Durham. The idea of the tour was to visit, artists, farms, museums, country markets and food artisans that created the flavors of the Region.  I am not aware of its existence today.

Victor Tinkl's Work

I have to be honest. While touring their home I wondered if perhaps that grew a crop on their property that inspired such unusual works. However upon meeting them, they gave the impression that they could allow themselves to create without being censored and with no concern about what people might think.

As Victor stated his work was for an audience of one, so if he liked it that was all that really mattered to him. Victor and Judith are Artists who simply create what gives them pleasure and while I’m not going to order a sculpture for my garden, it was one the most interesting and unusual places I’ve visited in Durham.

Please take a moment to visit the blog of Julia Breckenreid for a fantastic tour of the Tinkl House

This entry was posted in Country Folk, Local History, Uncategorized and tagged , , , by CityMouseCountryHouse. Bookmark the permalink.

About CityMouseCountryHouse

Hi Everyone: I want to share my crazy life with those who are like me! I am a business woman who works in the city but I live in the country. Life is never dull for me, not in either location. As a matter of fact my friends always say I should write a book. With little extra time to do so I have opted to share my world in this blog. I have lived in a rural area just outside the Town of Uxbridge Ontario for 22 years. I share my life with a wonderful husband, Harry and a cat named Skeeter. Our children are all grown so Skeeter is it around here. We affectionately call him Babycat! I hope you enjoy my musings about life in the country. I love to share my adventures in cooking, gardening, renovating entertaining and more. Come along for the ride! But hang on it can be bumpy at times.

Leave a comment